A lease on a new life!

Well I thought to update everyone on what’s going on in my life lately.

Back on December 5th, 2013, one month ago today, I was rushed to Emergency via Ambulance because I passed out from not being able to catch my breath. After many tests and my 8 day stay at the hospital the team of Doctors had Diagnosed me with an Pulmonary Embolism in my lungs. A clot, starting in my legs, rose up to my lungs and blocked the main artery in my lungs, and therefor I had a terrible time trying to breath. I was also diagnosed with ‘potential’ ¬†Congestive Heart Failure, as a result of the embolism. and because of these two very serious conditions, my Gastric Bypass was cancelled. I’m now on Blood thinners and a ‘ Heart Friendly’ Diet. NO SALT, NO SUGAR.

I see my GP once a week to be weighed, have my blood pressure and blood oxygen levels checked and twice a week to have my blood (INR levels) checked due to the blood thinner medication.

As a result, I’m feeling WAY BETTER!! Thank god. I’ve lost a total of 30 pounds in 4 weeks.

Today I was able to fit once again into an old pair of jeans! yeepee!!

So as you can see and read I”m on my way to a way healthier lifestyle!

There’s nothing more motivating to make you lose weight and change your eating habits than a life threatening Health crisis.

Who knew?

Taken Jan 5 2014, fitting into my old jeans!

Taken Jan 5 2014, fitting into my old jeans!

3 thoughts on “A lease on a new life!

  1. Hey Wendy,

    Too close for comfort. Maybe a blessing in disguise. That is to say now you can lose the weight more naturally and with the least amount of intrusion on your body. We are are so relieved you pulled out of this!

    I lost 12 pounds since December 4. My doctor said my lung and cardiac symptoms would go away if I lost weight. She recommended an app which has given me the impetus I needed. It’s called My Fitness Pal. It’s simply a very good tracker of caloric intake and exercise.

    Take care and keep up the good work!

    Neil

    R. Neil Douglas Sent from my iPod

  2. Hang in there Wendy. Padge and I have been purposely losing weight since August of 2012. She’s slimmer than me at her high school weight now. I’ve still got a few more pounds to shed because she has more “wont” power than I do. We send love and very best wishes for your continued success. Chris

  3. dear Wendy, I am so glad to read you are feeling so much better. I wish you power and strength to keep up with the healthy lifestyle and hope to meet you again in future, love and kisses from your cousin Liesbeth

Leave a Reply

